Turning Naturally Curly Hair Vintage

Since changing my style, I’ve found the most difficult part of dressing vintage is my hair. I am a mix of Mexican and Black and my hair is a unique texture of curl. For a very long time, I convinced myself that the only way to achieve proper vintage style was to straighten my hair.

snapchat-440723619

Though I still use a flat iron to straighten my hair when the weather permits, I have found that there are other styles I can produce without spending hours burning the curl from my hair. It hasn’t been easy, mostly due to the fact that there aren’t many curly hair tutorials out there.

20160921_105014

The easiest style I’ve come across are hair combs and bumper bangs. I use a bun roll that I’ve cut to create a straight hair rat. I use the hair rat to help form perfect bumper bangs and I use Suavecita Pomade to smooth them out. For the rest of my hair, I roll and tuck the hair back using bobby pins (though hair combs can achieve a more secure set). Sometimes, I leave my curls out, or I tuck them in and finish with a hair scarf.

snapchat-1422543870

The typical classic pinup look involves pin curls. However, with the texture of my hair, traditional pin curls do not form correctly. Instead, I do a twist and pin my hair using setting lotion in 1″ sections and set in place with bobby pins. I usually do this before bed and sleep with them in. I take the my hair down in the morning or when dry, finger brush them out and use pomade and a boar bristle brush to smooth out any parts that have become unruly.

I also love to use pillow rollers to achieve a vintage style. Using the same brush out technique as with the twists, only my hair comes out in much softer waves than with the twists. This is the closest look to the traditional pin curl brush out using no heat element to straighten my curls.

Though I still straighten my hair when I want a more classic look, I like these styles the most for every day looks and outdoor events. Vintage hairstyles always seem a bit daunting when you first try them, but once you get to know your hair texture, it gets much easier!

 

 

