Becoming a PUG owner

Ever since I really started learning about vintage clothing and pinup style, I have pined over every clothing piece offered by Pinup Girl Clothing (PUG). My obsession stared around 2004 when I first graduated from high school. However, being a student meant I would never be able to own a piece from them until I got a real job.

p1010834

After my second raise (yay!), I decided I needed a skirt from PUG. The Holiday Capsule Collection for 2016 was about to be released and I couldn’t wait for the blue and white Blue Ice Harlequin Skirt from Pinup Couture.

psx_20161122_222742

My husband and I are Jewish and I wanted to make sure I’d have something to wear at holiday parties where 90% of people will be wearing terrible Christmas sweaters and red/green dresses.

p1010819

p1010820

The skirt arrived and I was pleasantly surprised to find it had silver within the pattern, that made the skirt even more beautiful in person. The quality of PUG is unmatched by anything I could have made myself for the holidays.

p1010842

I handmade a top for this skirt a week before it arrived using a sparkly blue fabric I got at Joann’s on clearance. The color didn’t quite match so I decided to go with a Bob Mackie Collection blue top I had found at a local Goodwill.

psx_20161122_223225This is by far my favorite outfit, not just because the skirt is so comfy, but because it was my first PUG piece. The young, poor vintage admirer in me was screaming with joy.

psx_20161122_222912


Items featured:

Blue Ice Harlequin Circle Skirt by Pinup Couture from Pinup Girl Clothing

Blue Tie Blouse by Bob Mackie Collection

Blue Sparkle Top handmade by me with Fabric from Joann’s

