Take a Chance

In September, a group called Spiffy Saturday threw their Fall fancy. If you aren’t familiar with the group, Spiffy Saturday is the Universal equivalent to Dapper Day at Disney. I used to work for Disney so my urge to go there has very drastically decreased as I’ve gotten older. I do have a Universal Orlando annual pass so I was very excited to attend the event. As with Dapper Day, for Spiffy Saturday, you dress in your best vintage and for this event, I wanted to wear a Halloween Horror Nights inspired outfit.

During HHN 25, we were reintroduced to the character Chance, Jack’s sidekick and a similar character to Harley Quin in terms of her moral compass.

21224058724_3f8a5b3706_kI didn’t want to stray too far away from vintage so I drew a sketch of the outfit I was to create myself, keeping in mind the Universal Orlando rules regarding costumes.

20160822_122842

My plan was to make the dress and a separate top so that I could possibly use the skirt in other outfits after this event. My goal is always to make re-wearable items so as not to “waste” money. I’m not the best at sewing, but making circle skirts is fairly easy, if you know your maths.

20161130_161856.jpg

Essentially, you fold fabric 4x and measure out the radius from the folded edge. Knowing your bust/waist/hip measurements is helpful in all vintage clothing sizing, but especially in making your own clothing.

20160901_182142

I made the skirt first, because I always have issues making tops. My bust measures between 38″-40″ and my waist 34″-35″ so sometimes the bust is too big but the waist fits right, or vice versa. For this outfit, I bought so little fabric that I just made a crop top instead of the original plan.

Screenshot_20160903-123838.png

I found the top I made to be a little busty and it wasn’t too hot so I topped it off with a sheer cardigan I acquired from my grandma. I turned my original plan for a high-waisted skirt, into a jumper to give the front a bit of a corset look. When I look at it now, it reminds me of Santa, but it worked well for the look I was going for because her corset had buckles.

20160902_195510

20160901_182513

I had enough fabric from the top to make my husband a matching bowtie using this tutorial on Tie-a-Tie.

20160902_195304.jpg

I have a deep passion for collecting pins and wearing pins that are relevant to whatever situation I find myself in, so I decided to make a polymer clay pin of the Wheel of Chance that was used in HHN 25 (featured behind Chance in the photo above). I threw in some chainsaw earrings also made from polymer clay.

20160902_19535420160902_195751.jpg

The pin was the hardest to make since I am a perfectionist and the pin only measured 1.5″ long. Hand painting the words onto the pin took two tries but I am very satisfied with the result.

img_9009

I had no issues at the parks and there were a few folks that recognized who I was styled after and really that made all the difference. A lot of hard work went into this ensemble and it was our first time going out vintage. It was a wonderful time and we made some pretty cool friends that day.

1775013_73394488


All fabrics were purchased from Joann Fabrics

